National Kabaddi Championship: Himachal women champs

Himachal Pradesh women and Maharashtra men emerged as the champions of the 65th Senior National Kabaddi Championship which was held at the GMC Balayogi Indoor Stadium in Gachibowli, Hyderabad.

On Friday’s final, women of Himachal defeated Indian Railway with a comfortable score of 38-25, hence bagging the trophy.

Nidhi Sharma and Pushpa Devi were the best players for Himachal while Payal Chowdary and Sonali did their best for the Railway team. The Railway women were in the match for the most part, even as they trailed 11-17 at half-time. However, Himachal began to score points continuously after the break, to push their opponents off track.

In the semifinals, Railways pinned down Punjab 30-23 while Himachal halted Haryana’s run with a 30-26 scoreline.

In the men’s final, Maharashtra and Services were involved in a tight contest. Maharashtra led 17-12 at half-time but soon after, the teams were level at 22 points. Thereafter, the Western side pulled ahead to win the title.

The results
Women’s final: Himachal Pradesh beat Indian Railway with a score of 38-25 (half time 17-11).
Semifinals: Indian Railway beat Punjab 30-23, Himachal Pradesh beat Haryana 30-26.

Men’s final: Maharashtra beat Services 34-29 (half time 17-12).
Semifinals: Maharashtra beat Karnataka 35-34, Services beat Haryana 32-28.